HOMM3 Installation Problem

Need help with one of the installers?
kwark77

HOMM3 Installation Problem

Post by kwark77 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 13:45

Hi,
I don`t know is it a good place for ask about old Heroes of Might and Magic 3 but my brother brought this game few days ago and i can`t install it.

when I type:

#sh /mnt/cdrom/setup.sh

I recive message:

/mnt/cdrom/setup.sh: line 81: /root/.setup454: cannot executebinary file
The setup program seems to have failed on x86/glibc-2.1

Please contact Loki Technical Support at support@lokigames.com


I have Slackware 10.1 with packages
glibc-2.3.5-i486-2
gtk+2-2.6.7-i486-1
gtk+-1.2.10
installed
Where is a problem?

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 14:00

is your cdrom mount with noexec flag?

kwark77

Post by kwark77 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 14:05

Here is my /etc/fstab

$cat /etc/fstab | grep cdrom
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,exec,user,ro


I try to mount cdrom with noexec flag but it didn`t help.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 15:12

seem's your /root partition is mounted noexec

the installer copies setup_bin -> /root/.setup$$
($$ stands for the pid of the current bash process)

but the installer i can't execute it

run the installer and check the permisson of /root/.setup*

should look like this:
-rwx------ 1 kratz00 users 188760 Aug 3 15:02 .setup2910

Guest

Post by Guest » Wed Aug 03, 2005 15:46

But I can run any other programs or scripts e.g my own HelloWorld from /root partition.
How can I check the permission of the /root/.setup* ?
This directory is deleted by the setup.sh. Here is a part of setup.sh.
# Try to run the binary
# The executable is here but we can't execute it from CD
setup="$HOME/.setup$$"
cp "$setup_bin" "$setup"
chmod 700 "$setup"
if [ "$fatal" != "" ]; then
"$setup" $*
failed=$?
else
"$setup" $* 2>/dev/null
failed=$?
fi
----------------------
rm -f "$setup"
----------------------
return $failed

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 21:25

i know the script :)

ok here we go
you are trying to install as user root, right?

cd /mnt/cdrom
cp setup.data/bin/x86/glibc-2.1/setup.gtk /root
chmod 755 /root/setup.gtk
/root/setup.gtk

Guest

Post by Guest » Wed Aug 03, 2005 23:24

Ok I`ve done what you`ve told and get:

root@darkstar:~# ls -l|grep gtk
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 188760 2027-08-03 23:09 setup.gtk
root@darkstar:~# ./setup.gtk
bash: ./setup.gtk: cannot execute binary file


Any suggestions ?

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 23:49

what the hell is this?!

why can't root run this ****

maybe pam related?

try it as a user != root

kwark77

Post by kwark77 » Thu Aug 04, 2005 0:32

I `ve tried:
pawel@darkstar:~$ ls -l |grep gtk

-r-xr-xr-x 1 pawel users 188760 2027-08-04 00:20 setup.gtk*

pawel@darkstar:~$ ./setup.gtk

-bash: ./setup.gtk: cannot execute binary file

:(

Maybe my Game-CD is corrupt ?

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Thu Aug 04, 2005 1:01

whats the output of:
file setup.gtk

and

md5sum setup.gtk

are you on x86_64?

kwark77

Post by kwark77 » Thu Aug 04, 2005 22:53

pawel@darkstar:~$ file /mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/glib*/setup.gtk

/mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/glibc-2.1/setup.gtk: data



and md5

pawel@darkstar:~$ md5sum /mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/glib*/setup.gtk

86298ab31ba4f8001572c1a210cb4626 /mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/glibc-2.1/setup.gtk


and my proc is

pawel@darkstar:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 7
model name : Pentium III (Katmai)
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 501.144
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 999.42

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Thu Aug 04, 2005 23:37

kwark77 wrote:
pawel@darkstar:~$ file /mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/glib*/setup.gtk

/mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/glibc-2.1/setup.gtk: data


bad really bad

should look like:

Code: Select all

setup.gtk: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (GNU/Linux), for GNU/Linux 2.0.30, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped


try
file /mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/setup

maybe this file is not broken

kwark77

Post by kwark77 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 0:16

It is broken too.

pawel@darkstar:~$ file /mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/setup

/mnt/cdrom/setup.data/bin/x86/setup: data

:(

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 0:43

damn it

now the question is, are only the installer files broken or also the game files?

check with file and iirc there are also some mpg files
try if you can watch them

kwark77

Post by kwark77 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:34

I can watch all of the mpg files from
/mnt/cdrom/data/video/ in mplayer.


Other files
pawel@darkstar:~$ file /mnt/cdrom/bin/x86/*
/mnt/cdrom/bin/x86/heroes3: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), statically linked, stripped
pawel@darkstar:~$ file /mnt/cdrom/win32/*
/mnt/cdrom/win32/autorun.exe: data
/mnt/cdrom/win32/README.htm: data
pawel@darkstar:~$ file /mnt/cdrom/data/*
/mnt/cdrom/data/h3bitmap.lod: data
/mnt/cdrom/data/h3sprite.lod: data
/mnt/cdrom/data/heroes3cd.snd: data
/mnt/cdrom/data/heroes3.snd: data
/mnt/cdrom/data/hiscore.dat: empty
/mnt/cdrom/data/video: directory

Post Reply