doom3 problem

Need help with one of the installers?
manicman

doom3 problem

Post by manicman » Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:28

ok this is kind of a weard problem ive had doom3 for a while now running on windows and i thought id try to get it running on linux i installed it fine using the loki installer but when ever i run doom3 it asks the cd key but when i enter my CD key it says its not valid now could this be caused by a problem when installing or something or are there differnt serials for windows and linux versions

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:57

nor, doom3 key is doom3 key
there is no difference and it has nothing to do with the installer

just enter the key when asked but be careful to enter the last 2 characters in the second input field

also the key is not case sensitive so it dosen't matter if you write
KEy, KeY, keY or something else

lalo

Post by lalo » Mon Jan 02, 2006 22:05

I'm currently having the same problem. :( Could it be due to the fact that I'm using the spanish version of the game?? (I copied all the pk4 files required from the window$ spanish version cd's to the 'base' directory, but my key doesn't work on linux, it only works on windows)

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Jan 02, 2006 22:23

really strange and you used the id installer, right?

lalo

Post by lalo » Mon Jan 02, 2006 23:11

I've used both, the id installer and the loki installer, and I've got the same results: I see the initial id screen and stuff, then I'm prompted to enter the cd key but it fails. I even tried copying the doomkey file from my windows installation to /home/user/.doom3/base and it didn't work. :(

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Tue Jan 03, 2006 0:09

it shouldn't matter which installer you use
the keycheck thing is part of the client

really strange it works in windows but not in linux

key is saved in ~/.doom3/base/doomkey

key is stored uppercase and the 2 last digits are missing

give it a try

lalo

Post by lalo » Fri Jan 06, 2006 16:51

No go. :( there's no way I can play this game on linux. I've tried everything, and I tried what you told me but the game doesn't recognize my key. I'll have to resign myself to play this game under M$. Anyway, thanks for your help.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Fri Jan 06, 2006 19:03

i can't believe this

but i have no clue

you really should ask ID for help

http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/linux/do ... a4d389b827

miketoupin

I found why Doom3 don't accept the serial key

Post by miketoupin » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:36

The problem about the serial key has been found, it is not related the key, but the game need to have all the files of the folder /doom3/base copied to the folder ./doom3/base. After that it's should work! (don't forget the ./doom3 folder are hidden, you just need to click on view + show hidden files and folders...)

Have a nice game

miketoupin

Correction

Post by miketoupin » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:44

about my last post, my error, don't copy all the files but ONLY the file pak000.pk4. If your copy all the files it's not going to work.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 23:39

miketoupin do you mean ~/.doom3/base/

and this really does work? sounds very strange but maybe somebody can check this out.

miketoupin

corrent folder

Post by miketoupin » Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:03

Yes kratz00, youre right .doom3/base and it's work for me.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 22:06

i can't believe it :)

but i will keep it in mind if somebody else has the same problem

Starcrasher

Post by Starcrasher » Fri Mar 23, 2007 23:16

I will not be surprised if this trick could help people with other Id games, lile Quake 4.
The remaining question is how large is this file and so how many megabytes will it use in home directory ?
If it's abig one, it could be fine to extract files from it, and repack only the necessary ones.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 0:59

maybe a symlink does the job also?

Post Reply