NWN is unusable

Need help with one of the installers?
stretched_lobes

NWN is unusable

Post by stretched_lobes » Thu Dec 15, 2005 20:32

I have updated nwn to 1.66 using your update. I have installed nwn. Everything runs great until I try to make a new charachter or use a premade charachter. once I select either, i get the following error messages. Could not load the module
Could not unpack the module

What did I do wrong? Is there something else I need to install? Should I install the CEP package? Please help. thank you.

kratz00
liflg member

Post by kratz00 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:55

first you have could used the searchfunction
second did you install as root?

stretched_lobes

NWN is unusable

Post by stretched_lobes » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:20

thanks for the reply. As to your questions. 1) I did use the search and I did not find a fix using 1.66 . 2) I installed as root. I apologize for not being a guru in this. I am a newbie and I do not have the knowledge base I should. I came here for help with the installer. I searched the archives for NWN, Neverwinter Nights, 1.66 charachter creation, etc. I found reference to these issues ,but they were for v1.65 and there were no answers to the issues. The only thing i could see to do was to check the read write properties. If this is the case what should I be looking for as a conflict in the RW ownership. Again I apologize for being a newbie and being ignorant of what to do. Thanks again for your reply. Hopefully, someone can still help me with this issue.

kratz00
liflg member

Post by kratz00 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:35

you don't have to apologize!

nwn needs write permisson in installdir
if you installed as root and you run is as a other user you wont have write permisson

best solution would be to install nwn in the users home directory who is going to play nwn

stretched_lobes

NWN unusable

Post by stretched_lobes » Fri Dec 16, 2005 20:13