ut2004 will not run Critical: Assertion failed:

Need help with one of the installers?
Post Reply
Priapus

ut2004 will not run Critical: Assertion failed:

Post by Priapus » Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:51

I am running Suse 10.0 on an Athlon 64 X2 with a Radeon x1600 (mistake). When I try and run Unreal Tournament 2004 I get the following error in the terminal:

Assertion failed: sizeof(*this)==GetClass()->GetPropertiesSize() [File:UnGame.cpp] [Line: 148]

History:

Exiting due to error

The file UT2004.log reads:
Log: Log file open, Thu Jun 15 18:24:38 2006
Init: Name subsystem initialized
Init: Version: 3319 (128.29)
Init: Compiled: Sep 2 2004 13:40:20
Init: Command line:
Init: (This is Linux64 patch version 3319.0)
Init: Character set: Unicode
Init: Base directory: /home/priapus/ut2004/System/
Init: Ini:UT2004.ini UserIni:User.ini
Init: Build label: UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-11-23_16.22]
Init: Object subsystem initialized
Critical: Assertion failed: sizeof(*this)==GetClass()->GetPropertiesSize() [File:UnGame.cpp] [Line: 148]
Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
Exit: Exiting.
Log: FileManager: Reading 0 GByte 0 MByte 604 KByte 387 Bytes from HD took 0.059764 seconds (0.026175 reading, 0.033590 seeking).
Log: FileManager: 0.000000 seconds spent with misc. duties
Uninitialized: Name subsystem shut down
Uninitialized: Log file closed, Thu Jun 15 18:24:39 2006

I have uninstalled it and reinstalled it and still the same error, I have also tried one of the mods and get an identical error. Any ideas as to how to fix this?

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:53

I recommend you to completly uninstall ut2004 then install again und update using ut2004.megapack-english-2.run (from here: http://www.liflg.org/?catid=6&gameid=17)

Priapus

Not so easy.

Post by Priapus » Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:06

I am now getting a whole new problem. When I try the complete uninstall with the loki-unistall tool I get the following message:
"Uninstallatiion of component AirBuccaneers has failed! The whole installation may be incomplete."
And then I am forced to abort the process (I get the same error when I try and uninstall Air Buccaneers by it's self). I have tried to run the uninstallation shell script located in the Unreal Tournament folder but I get a similar message:

priapus@HAL9000:~/ut2004> ./uninstall
Product: Unreal Tournament 2004
Installed in /home/priapus/ut2004
sh: /home/priapus/ut2004/.manifest/scripts/update-menus.sh: No such file or directory
Post-uninstall scripts for AirBuccaneers have failed.
An error occured during the uninstallation process.

As far as I can tell it has removed all the data for the mod but it still shows it as being installed. I tried to install the mod again but of course it won't let me because it says that it is already installed.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Sat Jun 17, 2006 9:14

rm -rf /home/priapus/ut2004
rm /home/priapus/.loki/installed/ut2004.xml

Priapus

Post by Priapus » Sat Jun 17, 2006 23:25

That worked to uninstall but this game is giving me nothing but grief. I have tried to reinstall it at least six times (which is a real pain with so many cds), but I keep getting an error similar to this one:
loki_setup: UZ2: Failed to fully write [/home/priapus/ut2004/Animations/Hellions.ukx]!

And I am forced to abort the installation process. It usually happens with the Hellions file but also sometimes with other files, but always with the first cd (which you insert after the fifth). It did this when I was installing it the first time, but it finally completed an install. I wonder if there is something wrong with the data on this cd.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:33

seems your cd is scratched or dirty, could this be the case?

Priapus

Post by Priapus » Mon Jun 19, 2006 1:00

No, it's brand new and I have examined it very closely. I have heard that when you burn a program to a disc with your own burner the data is sometimes corrupted (which I did not do this is a legitimate copy of the game I purchased from a retailer). Is it possible that the cd is flawed?

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Jun 19, 2006 15:32

try to copy the file manualy and see if this works or try to create an iso image, i think this would proof if the cd is broken

Priapus

Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgh!!!!!!!!

Post by Priapus » Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:48

Yep. CD one is messed up. I created an iso image with K3b and during the creation of the image it said:
Problem while reading. Retrying from sector 232512.
Problem while reading. Retrying from sector 310400.
None of the other CDs had any problems. I tried to install it by mounting the isos and sure enough, when I got to CD1 it couldn't copy a file.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Tue Jun 20, 2006 19:05

what a pity :(

so go and get some new cds :)

Post Reply