Kingpin won't run -could not locate "libGL.so"

Need help with one of the installers?
Post Reply
cackerso

Kingpin won't run -could not locate "libGL.so"

Post by cackerso » Thu Jan 01, 2009 20:32

I've gotten a couple of your other installers to work. Sometimes I've had to install a library that was missing. But I can't find "libGL.so" listed in my repositories.

I'm running a version of Lenny called MEPIS 8. When I check for the library I can't find anything under libGL, GL, GL.so and so on. What library do I actually need? Can I get it from the Lenny repositories? Below is the whole error message if it is useful.

Thanks.


md_AddCommand: force_centerview already defined
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
/home/larry/Games/kingpin/libGL.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libGL.so"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
------- Loading ref_gl.so -------
Warning: you have not yet configured your mouse type. If you have no mouse,
setting the type to `none' in /etc/vga/libvga.config will get rid of this
annoying message.
No mouse found
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
/home/larry/Games/kingpin/libGL.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libGL.so"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
/home/larry/kingpin: line 46: 10686 Segmentation fault ./$GAME_BINARY +set vid_ref glx +set gl_driver libGL.so +set _windowed_mouse 1 $*
larry@mepis1:~/Games$

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:51

Did you use the startscript which came with the installer?
It's 'kingpin.sh' and should be in the installation directory. You need a prope 3D driver installation to get this work.

For example:

/usr/lib/libGL.so.1 -> libGL.so.177.82

This on my system and libGL.so.1 points to Nvidia's libGL library.

cackerso

Post by cackerso » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:50

Sorry, my knowledge of Linux is pretty rudimentary.

I believe that I have a proper 3D driver installation. My card is an ATI 1950 pro and the driver is ATI 8.51.3. I can run "Prey" with no problems for example.

So I tried running kingpin.sh. I got the following error and output


larry@mepis1:~/Games/kingpin$ sh kingpin.sh
KPHack 0.0.5: DGA mouse enabled; FullScreen enabled.
Added packfile ./main/pak0.pak (456 files)
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec config.cfg
couldn't exec linux.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
/dev/dsp: Broken pipe
Could not toggle.
------- Loading ref_glx.so -------
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
./libGL.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libGL.so"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
------- Loading ref_glx.so -------
Cmd_AddCommand: +mlook already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: -mlook already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: force_centerview already defined
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
./libMesaGL.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libMesaGL.so.2"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
------- Loading ref_glx.so -------
Cmd_AddCommand: +mlook already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: -mlook already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: force_centerview already defined
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
./libTNTgl.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libTNTgl.so"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
------- Loading ref_glx.so -------
Cmd_AddCommand: +mlook already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: -mlook already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: force_centerview already defined
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
./libGL.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libGL.so"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
------- Loading ref_gl.so -------
Warning: you have not yet configured your mouse type. If you have no mouse,
setting the type to `none' in /etc/vga/libvga.config will get rid of this
annoying message.
No mouse found
ref_gl version: GL 0.01
./libGL.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not load "libGL.so"
KPHack 0.0.5: Cleaning up.
kingpin.sh: line 46: 26521 Segmentation fault ./$GAME_BINARY +set vid_ref g lx +set gl_driver libGL.so +set _windowed_mouse 1 $*
larry@mepis1:~/Games/kingpin$

If I do a search for libGL.so, I get two links and two files, they were:

libGL.so.1 which points to libGL.so.1.2 --Both of these are in usr/lib

Then I got a repeat of the same two files in usr/lib/fglrx/diversions
I hope this helps, I'm obviously running a bit blind here.

cackerso

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:55

If you can play Prey 3D support seems to work :)

Have a look at the startscript (kingpin.sh), last line:

+set gl_driver libGL.so <- remove this and try again, if it does not work
try +set gl_driver /usr/lib/libGL.so

Good luck.

cackerso

Post by cackerso » Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:17

OK, some progress, Thanks.

Now the game will run. One small correction to what you suggested. I tried

+set gl_driver /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 not /usr/lib/libGL.so and it worked (up to a point) I assume that's what you wanted me to add in the first place since there is no libGL.so in that directory.

Anyway. Now I have video but no sound and the mouse doesn't work. What should I try next?

By the way, thanks again. It may take a while to get reply on your next suggestion as I have to go back to work tomorrow.

cackerso

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:15

Hi cackersojust to make sure:

+set gl_driver /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 <- works, right?
+set gl_driver libGL.so.1 <- does that work too?

A possible fix for you sound problem might be:

http://liflg.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=916

I have not idea what might be the problem with mouse input but you should run the game from a virtual terminal (xterm or something) and look if the log contains something useful.

HF @ work :)

cackerso

Post by cackerso » Sun Jan 11, 2009 22:18

Hi kdratz00,

Yes I tried it both ways and either

+set gl_driver /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
+set gl_driver libGL.so.1

will work. I also re-ran the installation script and then made the simpler change (libGL.so.1) and the video and the mouse work fine now. I'm a little reluctant to run the commands from the the post you provided. Will this change the sound driver for other applications? Cause everything else works OK right now and I wouldn't want to screw anything up.

If it all gets reset after a reboot or you can run me through how I would restore the original configuration after I try the change then I'd be more confident about trying out the suggestions.

Thanks,

cackerso

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Jan 12, 2009 19:06

Hi cackerso,

don't worry this will not harm anything, trust me :)
This setting will only effect kingpin, just run

Code: Select all

echo kingpin.x86 0 0 direct > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss
as root user.

To restore the default you can:
* reboot your system
* reload snd_pcm_oss

It's totally save, no worries!

cackerso

Post by cackerso » Fri Jan 16, 2009 0:35

Hi kratz00,

Well more progress. The sound fix works fine. Thank you. I was a bit taken aback tho' at the language since I didn't know much about the game. Anyway onto new, more subtle problems.

If I try and make any adjustments to the video, or actually even if I don't make any adjustments and I hit the 'save settings' button the game dumps me back out to a terminal. My video card is capable of more than the basic settings so I'd like to at least change the resolution and brightness.

Any suggestions?

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 21:45

No idea whats the problem, I encounter the same problem :(

As a workaround you can start Kingpin like this:

Code: Select all

./kingpin.sh +set gl_mode 3
(0=320x200, 1=400x300, 2=512x384, 3=640x480, 4=800x600, 5=960x720, 6=1024x768, 7=1152x864, 8=1280x960, 9=1600x1200)

cackerso

Post by cackerso » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:14

Thanks, that worked great. One more detail and I'm done. Can you set the brightness parameter from a terminal? If so what's the command? On my machine Kingpin runs really dark.

Thanks again for your help.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Jan 19, 2009 18:14

Hey, Google is for everyone :p

Code: Select all

+set intensity 5

cackerso

Post by cackerso » Mon Jan 19, 2009 20:01

Hi kratz00,

Thanks again for all of your help.

cackerso

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Post by kratz00 » Mon Jan 19, 2009 21:19

You are welcome :)

Post Reply