Serious Sam 2 installer

Installers we are searching testers for.
kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Mon Dec 31, 2007 15:30

Thanks for this information.
I have updated the first post, please try the newly added installer and report back.

Also please post the output of 'ls -l /media/cdrom0/Disk1/' so I can add Russian to the language selection.

wusch

Postby wusch » Thu Jan 03, 2008 0:43

Hello kratz00!

Ingenious!! I'll try out your version in a few days, I've got to make some more room on my HDD first - to a good deal thanks to your installers, I'm getting more and more of my favourite games up and running under linux :-D

Here's the output of ls -l, as you requested:
ls -l /media/cdrom0/Disk1/
insgesamt 199656
dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 2048 2006-05-18 09:57 Bin
dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 2048 2006-05-18 09:57 Content
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 203832 2005-09-08 23:20 Content_DEU.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 193302 2005-09-08 23:20 Content_ITL.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 94286934 2005-09-08 23:21 Content_PC_FRA.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 81182690 2005-12-09 16:06 Content_RUS.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 23 2006-03-02 15:42 Disk1.txt
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 25409 2006-02-24 17:26 Patch_02_068_Content_DEU.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 24809 2006-02-24 17:26 Patch_02_068_Content_ITL.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 24074 2006-02-24 17:26 Patch_02_068_Content_PC_FRA.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 25101 2006-02-27 10:49 Patch_02_068_Content_RUS.gro
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 28473950 2006-02-27 11:15 Patch_02_068.gro


wusch

wusch

Postby wusch » Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:27

Hello kratz00!

I've tried the new installer, and... it failed again ;-(

I was encountering the infamous 'mount dvd' message again!
As I've changed the mountpoint to '/media/dvd' in my fstab meanwhile, this command is what I've tried also:

"export SETUP_CDROM=/media/dvd"

no workie... what now?

wusch

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Fri Jan 04, 2008 13:12

Did you try serious.sam2_2.070beta2.1multilanguage.dvd.software_pyramide.run ?

There is no need to add this entry in /etc/fstab

as root:
mount /dev/hdc /media/dvd

as user:
export SETUP_CDROM=/media/dvd
sh serious.sam2_2.070beta2.1multilanguage.dvd.software_pyramide.run

the installer is looking for "Disk2/All_PC_03.gro" on the installation media.

wusch

Postby wusch » Fri Jan 04, 2008 20:00

Hi again!

I just wanted to have my DVD drive renamed and mounted visibly different from my other CD drive (first I had cdrom0 (DVD) and cdrom1 (CD)) - while the latter one seems to be non-functional under Ubuntu anyway.

This is what /etc/mtab looks like currently:
/dev/hdc /media/dvd iso9660 ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,user=xyz 0 0

And this is in /etc/fstab;
/dev/hdc /media/dvd udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/hdd /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0


I just noticed that the numbers of the .gro files don't match with the 'disk' and 'DiskX.txt' labels on the DVD, but I don't think this matters...

wusch[/quote][/b]

wusch

Postby wusch » Fri Jan 04, 2008 20:36

HEY, the installer is working!!
Don't know why, but maybe it was not before due to a change of permissions while copying the installer into the /home folder or I didn't reboot to apply the new moint point...

BUT - the game isn't starting :-(
ACK! all that happenz is that the screen resolution zooms to about 640x400 and on the terminal I get this message:
./serioussam2
Segmentation fault (core dumped)


I'm not using a dual-screen setup btw., just having both connectors plugged into my screen for more convenience when the video port suddenly switches (happens with live-CD's and on Windows mostly).
I've got 'libopenal' installed and also the latest ATI driver (8.443.1-1) + ATI-OpenGL v2.xxxx.
My default color depth is 24bit, as stated in the 'README.Croteam'....

The Sam2.log reads:
Loading group files...
LOG: Movies_PC_01.gro: 56 files
LOG: All_PC_03.gro: 3274 files
LOG: Movies_PC_02.gro: 44 files
LOG: All_PC_01.gro: 1194 files
LOG: All_PC_02.gro: 5213 files
LOG: --- Serious Engine Startup ---
LOG:
LOG: Type: Unix
LOG: Detecting CPU...
LOG: Vendor: AuthenticAMD
LOG: Type: 0, Family: 15, Model: 11, Stepping: 1
LOG: MMX: Yes
LOG: SSE: Yes
LOG: CMOV: Yes
LOG: Clock: 1466 MHz
LOG:
LOG: Config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/boot.cfg' doesn't exist.
LOG: Processing config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/autoexec.cfg'.
LOG: Processing config file 'Content/SeriousSam2/Config/user.cfg'.
LOG: Loading cvars from "Content/SeriousSam2/Sam2.ini".
LOG: Multimonitor is not supported on this platform.


Do you by chance have any idea what's wrong?

UPDATE:
When uncommenting the 'XSERVER' lines in the 'serioussam2' script, the output in the terminal is as follows:
sh serioussam2
xterm Xt error: Can't open display: :1.0
FTL: Failed to establish connection to X server (:1.0)
INF: SysMessage: Failed to establish connection to X server (:1.0)
INF:

Does that mean I have to specifiy a dual-screen setup in the xorg.conf file?
[/quote]

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:37

Looks like you don't know what you are doing :)

Changing the startscript without the required knowhow wont help ^^

1. This error is no problem with the installer!
2. Can you run the editor?
3.
LOG: Multimonitor is not supported on this platform.

I think this is just a warning (I don't have SSam2 installed so i could check if see this message too)
4. ATI GPUs (now AMD) and Linux are not a good match
5. I read some people had removed ~/.openalrc which fixed the crash for them

6. This is only beta software

wusch

Postby wusch » Sat Jan 05, 2008 13:34

Well, from the humble knowledge I have about computers, and even more of Linux, plus the scarce info I can gather from the logfiles, I'm trying to apply a systematic approach to problems :^)

Besides, renaming /etc/openalrc didn't have any effect...
Well, I know you're not to blame, but we're having the year 2008 and SSLinux is still Beta - and it will stay that way, let's be honest. I guess that's it. Anyway, thanks very much for your efforts!

EDIT:
INF:
INF: Gfx API: OpenGL
INF: Window: 640 x 480
INF: Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
INF: Renderer: Radeon X1950 Series
INF: Version: 2.0.6334 (8.34.8)
INF:
INF: Sfx API: OpenAL
INF: Device: (unknown)
INF: Mixer freq: 44100 Hz
INF: HW voices: 32
INF: Max sounds: 25 (5 same)
INF: Env FX: not supported
INF:
WRN: Couldn't compile GPU program!
WRN: Error occured during thread priority setting. (Errorcode 1)
WRN: Couldn't compile GPU program!
INF:
INF: Current settings:
INF:
INF: Max texture size: 1024 x 1024
INF: Texture quality: optimal
INF: Texture filtering: Trilinear (22)
INF: Anisotropy degree: none (isotropic filtering)
INF: Mipmap LOD bias: none
INF: Anti-aliasing: none
INF: Flat reflect only: no
INF: Refraction mip: 0
INF: Max pix-prog ver: 3.0
INF: Force pix-prog 2: no
INF:
INF: Performace testing results:
INF:
INF: -> Vertex thruput (abs,rel):
INF: simple: 195.88 (Mvtx/s), 156.7%
INF: complex: 85.49 (Mvtx/s), 244.3%
INF: -> Pixel thruput (abs,rel):
INF: triple texture: 1390.29 (Mpix/s), 173.8%
INF: bump specular: 921.39 (Mpix/s), 139.6%
INF: bump reflection: 1032.68 (Mpix/s), 286.9%
INF: bump refraction: 118.73 (Mpix/s), 24.7%
INF: multi texture: 3263.45 (Mpix/s), 1087.8%
INF:
INF: = 3.29x faster than GeForce 6600-GT (128MB)
WRN: Couldn't compile GPU program!
INF:
INF: Gfx API: OpenGL
INF: Resolution: 1024 x 768
INF: Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
INF: Renderer: Radeon X1950 Series
INF: Version: 2.0.6334 (8.34.8)
WRN: Couldn't compile GPU program!
INF: Simulationsstart auf 'Content/SeriousSam2/Levels/01_Mdigbo/1_1_Jungle/1_1_Jungle.wld' in 24.85 Sekunden.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)


This is the output of my last try to get SS2 running (with old drivers) and might indicate that you're right about the drivers - I was able to get to the menus at least back then -

BUT I'm running DOOM3 and UT2004 on this system without any crashing problems, so I would wager it's CROTEAM that's to blame here... I've already written a post at the forums of seriouszone - but I doubt that they're gonna pay much attention to it.

best regards,
wusch

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 14:30

Does the editor run (run serioussam2-editor)?

~/.openalrc is a hidden file in your home directory! :)

So you had more success with an old driver than with the newest?

Sad and true, I also think there wont be a stable release ever :(

wusch

Postby wusch » Sat Jan 05, 2008 17:26

Hello again...

I was looking in my home directory at first, too. But there's no such thing!
Running the editor returns:
WRN: Error occured during thread priority setting. (Errorcode 1)
Segmentation fault (core dumped)


Sad and true, I also think there wont be a stable release ever Sad

Yep, sad that is! That is what Croteam calls 'Linux support' |-P
If there were any RUNNING release... I'm tempted to try my old trusty Gerforce2GTS just to see T_T
Some 'serious' swankers they are!

wusch

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Sun Jan 06, 2008 16:34

I did not play alot but the latest beta runs fine on my system:

Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 2.13GHz
Nvidia GeForce Go 6600
MemTotal: 2074396 kB

No GameSpy license, no multiplayer also a big loss :(

wusch

Postby wusch » Wed Jan 09, 2008 16:58

hello, kratz00...

I really appreciate that you made the effort of getting the German DVD version up and running.. for those that CAN run it - I can't ;-(

I was even trying to use an Nvidia 6800XT with all availible drivers; it even started one time but crashed after a few seconds again... I must admit, though, that EVERY 3D-game crashed with that card on by system, regardless of what driver I used!
So, there's a big No-Go under Linux for me - Serious Sam 2. Perhaps I give SS11st or 2nd a try.

Btw., you might update your 'Beta' download-section perhaps, so other users which have more luck than I can easily access the new installer :)

wusch

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Wed Jan 09, 2008 17:46

Bad luck, sorry.

You are right, I'm going to update the beta section right after hitting the "Submit" button :)

umarzuki

Postby umarzuki » Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:34

Works fine for my Pentium D 2.6 GHz, 3 GB RAM, GeForce 7600 GS but a little bit jittery while playing. Probably the game doesn't really support dual-core CPU.

kratz00
liflg member
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 16:23

Postby kratz00 » Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:57

umarzuki what installer did you test, would be good to know :)
Thanks for reporting.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest